2019 SAYRA Cup Season Results

We have just recently completed the final event in the 2019 SAYRA Regatta Series for the Tanzer 16 Class Association.

This year’s competition was won by David Mobley, with the assistance of a number of different crew.  It was a close contest between David and Pete Thorn, our 2018 Champion. The trophy was awarded at the Winter Social.

Here’s a recap of all the races included in the Series:

The Mayor’s Cup and Mid-Atlantic District Championship was held in early June at Lake Townsend—-Five boats competed in fairly light and squirrelly air as is common at Lake Townsend.  Eric Rasmussen prevailed with Pete
Thorn in second, Arch Altman in third, with Jay Hood and Dave Gilbert, respectively, in fourth and fifth places.

The Governor’s Cup in mid June at Kerr Lake—-Five boats competed, with David Mobley’s 5 bullets running away from the competition.  Paul Manis, Dave Gilbert, Arch Altman, and Jay Hood, respectively, rounded out the Tanzer 16 competition.

The Miller Time Regatta in mid-July at Kerr Lake was won by David Mobley with crew Diane.

The North Carolina Championship was held with the Blackbeard One Design Regatta in mid August at Blackbeard Sailing Club in New Bern, NC—The winds were brisk but managed well by victor Pete Thorn, who finished ahead of Eric Rasmussen, David Mobley, Arch Altman, and Chris Weed, respectively.

The 2019 51st Annual National Championship was held in conjunction with the Indian Summer Regatta at Lake Waccamaw, NC.  The winds were light and lighter, with Butch Blanchard and crew Debra Walters reportedly finding private gusts throughout the weekend that carried them to 5 victories.  David Mobley with pick-up crew Hal Medlin finished second, followed by Pete Thorn, Dave Gilbert, Arch Altman and Neil Graham, respectively.

With the throwout figured in, David Mobley was the 2019 SAYRA Tanzer 16 Season Champion., with 22 points. Pete Thorn was second with 19 points. Third Place was secured by Arch Altman, with 17 points.

Congrats to these three, their crew, and all who participated.  Next year can’t arrive soon enough!

Ken Whitt
President, Tanzer 16 Class Association

Scroll to Top