2022 Sayra Cup Results

2022 will be remembered as the year that the rains washed out access to the Waccamaw Sailing Club venue for the 2022 Indian Summer Regatta and our 53rd Annual National Championship Regatta.  Although both events were postponed and subsequently held as the 2023 WSC Alligator Run Regatta, the 2022 National Championship regatta results are included in the summary of 2022 SAYRA Cup Results:

The 2022 National Championship Regatta, rescheduled as it were from the 2023 Alligator Run at Lake Waccamaw, was won by Butch Blanchard.  In winning this, his 16th Tanzer 16 National Championship, Butch continues a most remarkable career in the Tanzer 16 that eclipses the legacies of most other sports legends.  Second place went to Pete Thorn, followed by Eric Rasmussen, Dale Strickland, Arch Altman, and Dave Gilbert, respectively, in third, fourth, fifth, and sixth places.

The North Carolina Championship, held in conjunction with the Mayor’s Cup at Lake Townsend, Greensboro, NC was won by Dave Gilbert.

The Mid-Atlantic District Championship held in conjunction with the BSC Spring Solstice on the Neuse River at New Bern, NC, was won by Dave Gilbert, followed by Arch Altman.

Once again, this year’s Tanzer 16 SAYRA Season Champion was Dave Gilbert with Eli Grobin.  The 2022 SAYRA Cup Trophy was awarded at the Winter Social.

Congratulation to all who participated in this post-COVID rebound year.

Ken Whitt

Commodore, Tanzer 16 Class Association

Scroll to Top